Button Disaster!

Remember the wooden flower shaped buttons I showed you last year?

 I had only just purchased them and was so excited and eager to start on a new design I had in mind. I wanted to combine them with an idea I had for a cross stitch pattern.

cross-stitch-3

Well, these brightly coloured pink and deep purple cuties were not all they seemed to be.

You see, when I purchased them their pretty colours weren’t sealed. I’m not sure if they’re stained, dyed or painted with inferior products. But, one thing’s for sure…they definitely lack a protective finish.

Yes, I know …

I should’ve known better… I should have tested them before I attached them to my pure white Aida cloth.

daisy-button-crossstitch

By rubbing my hand over the buttons while focused on perfecting my stitches, it caused the colour to bleed onto the white fabric. ..AUGHHHH!

close-up-1

And here’s a closer look…

close-up-2

And it bled onto the embroidery floss…

close-up-of-discoloured-thread

 

So, next time I’ll know…

I shall make a little test spot on the back of the button first and see how it performs on a scrap piece of light coloured fabric. Then I’ll test it wet and see how it dries.  After all, imagine if I wanted to use the buttons on a wearable project.

I’ll insert toothpicks in the holes to help hold the button in place while I seal it. The toothpicks will also prevent the holes from clogging up with sealer.

 I will allow the button to dry and repeat the process on the other side.

Then after it’s dry, I will apply a second coat of sealer… in case I missed any spots when I applied the first coat.

We live and learn. Not everyone follows the rules…

__

Happy crafting,

Effie

4 thoughts on “Button Disaster!

Leave a Reply

