Let’s paint Easter Eggs

When Inspiration strikes! … It’s usually when it’s least expected.

finished eggs 2

While I was browsing the frozen food aisle of our local supermarket, a disposable small paper Ice Cream container with a paper lid caught my eye.

Now, it wasn’t the flavoursome contents that had me salivating, nor was I astounded by the OVERSIZED low calorie logo printed on the front of it (supposedly there to draw my attention). I was moved by the boundless beauty of the colours on the packaging. I was in creative mode! Woohoo!

I placed the product in my shopping basket, I couldn’t even recall the price on it…it just didn’t matter… I paid for it and raced off to my happy place.

Now, it may not be the first thing one would think of after purchasing Ice Cream, but all I could imagine was – Painting Easter eggs…

Luckily I had some pre blown ostrich eggs in my stash, they were half painted with designs I had lost interest in.

 I carefully sanded them and began redecorating them…taking inspiration from the pretty container before me.

finished eggs 1

Materials

Pre blown ostrich eggs or any type of egg with contents removed. You may use paper mache or wooden eggs for this project.

White coloured putty

Sandpaper – fine grit

DecoArt Americana Acrylics – Cool White, Desert Turquoise, Silver Sage Green, Pistachio Mint, Soft Black

Americana Décor, Chalky Finish –Refreshing

DecoArt Dazzling Metallics – Emperor’s Gold

½ inch flat brush

Old toothbrush

Americana DuraClear Varnish – Gloss

Instructions

Step 1

(My eggs were empty shells when purchased. So I was able to skip this step.)

If you are using fresh eggs, pierce both ends of each egg and remove the contents from inside. Then give them a good rinse with water and let them dry.

Step 2

Fill the holes on both ends of each egg with the putty. Let them dry then carefully– remember eggs are fragile- sand to a smooth finish.

Step 3

basecoat eggs

I chose to paint each egg in a different shade of aqua/blue. I painted one egg with Cool White/Desert Turquoise 3:1. The second egg was painted with Cool White/Silver Sage/ Desert Turquoise 3:1:touch. With the third egg I wanted to try something different. I don’t usually stray from my favourite paints- DecoArt Americana Acrylics, but I wanted to try chalk paint.

I wasn’t sure if this would be appropriate for painting eggs, but I was enthused by the colour –Refreshing… one of the lovely colours in the Americana Décor, Chalky Finish range. I just had to try it!

As you can see I was so eager to paint I actually started experimenting with the paint colours before I filled the holes. Tat-tat

The chalk paint was my favourite, the coverage was perfect. Just one coat was enough for a decent coverage.

Step 4

speckled egg

Load the toothbrush with Soft Black and hold it in one hand a few inches away from the eggs surface; run your finger across the bristles of the toothbrush to create the splatter. I didn’t use water to thin the paint, as this may cause the paint to become too runny and the splattered specks may drip and run down the eggs. Then let them dry.

Step 5

finished eggs 1

I drew a curvy outline about one third of the way from the base of the egg. Then I painted this area with three coats of Emperor’s Gold. Then let them try.

Step 6

Then you can apply several coats of varnish with the brush.

__

Happy Easter,

Effie

4 thoughts on “Let’s paint Easter Eggs

    • Yes, you’re right, they will look good at any time of the year. I may leave out a little longer. Thank you so much for your lovely comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

